Chairman of Directors

Hugh Morgan is Chief Executive Officer of First Charnock Pty Ltd.  He joined North Broken Hill in 1965, becoming a Director (1971-1976).  Hugh was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Western Mining Corporation (1990-2003) and prior to that served as an Executive Officer (1976-1986) and then Managing Director (1986-2003).

Hugh has served as a Director of Alcoa of Australia Limited (1977-1998 and 2002-2003); a Director of Alcoa Inc. (1998-2001); Member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia (1981-1984 and 1996-2007); Non-Executive Board Member of the CSIRO (1978-1983); President (1981-1983) and Senior Vice-President (2002-2003) of the Minerals Council of Australia (formerly Australian Mining Industry Council); Vice-Chairman (1994-1998) and Chairman (1998-2000) of The International Council on Metals and the Environment; Executive Committee Member on the International Council on Mining and Metals (2001-2002); Member of the Executive Committee of the Australasian Mineral Industries Research Association (1980-1988); Chairman of the World Gold Council (1989-1991); Member of the Earth Resources Development Council (2006-2009);

Hugh is a Member of the Anglo American plc Australian Advisory Board; Member of the Lafarge International Advisory Board; Honorary Member of the Business Council of Australia; Chairman of the Order of Australia Association Foundation Limited; Trustee Emeritus of The Asia Society New York; Chairman Emeritus of the Asia Society AustralAsia Centre and President of the National Gallery of Victoria Foundation.